Mochi Mondays #1: Vanilla Ice Cream Cookie Mochi

Last week I mentioned about my favorite mochi ice cream, so since I was able to make mochi already I decided to challenge myself and make different mochis every monday! dun dun dun… presenting MOCHI MONDAYS! ^___^/

my first mochi ice cream!

                 my first mochi ice cream!

So for the first Mochi Monday, I made vanilla ice cream cookie mochi! I used a different recipe from chapssaldeok I made last week – this recipe is specially for mochi ice cream 🙂

Ingredients
¼ cup + 2 tbsp + 1 pinch (50 g) mochiko (glutinous rice flour) Potato starch for dusting
1/3 cup + 4 tsp (100 mL) water Vanilla ice cream
¼ cup + 2 tbsp (75 g) sugar Chocolate cookie

*The measurements in parentheses are based from the original recipe. I don’t have a weighing scale, so I based my weight on cup conversions for basic baking ingredients 🙂

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a bowl, gradually add water to flour. Mix well until lumps are dissolved.                                        mochiko + water
  2. Add sugar and mix well.
  3. Using a double boiler, steam the mixture for 10 minutes. uncooked mochi
  4. Take the mochi from the steamer then mix using a damp spoon. Return to the steamer, and steam for another 10 minutes.halfway-steamed mochi
  5. Coat a wax paper or any flat surface with potato starch. potato starch surface
  6. Drop the mochi onto the starched surface. drop that mochi!
  7. Flatten the mochi using a rolling pin. Divide into 8 pieces.
  8. Place your shaped mochi on the top of a glass to form a cavity.mochi cup
  9. Place one cookie and a tablespoon of ice cream.
    cookie + mochi
  10. Fold the sides to form a ball. Then put in the freeezer to harden the ice cream.

Notes:

I had a hard time folding the mochi because my ice cream was melting. Make sure to freeze your ice cream really hard, or work fast so you can form it into a ball. I have to practice more on the folding, so I better make them again soon! ^___^

Leave a Reply

